Profile of Dr. R. S. Paroda

Rajendra Singh Paroda

Honorary Fellow –2010

Agricultural Sciences & Forestry - Genetics

DB: 28-08-1942

Birth place

Ajmer, Rajasthan, India


University of Rajasthan, (B.Sc. (Ag.), 1962); University of Udaipur, (M.Sc. (Ag.), 1964); Indian Agricultural Research Institute (IARI),  New Delhi, (Ph.D.,  1968); University of Wales, Aberystwyth, U.K.,  Post-doctoral Program, (1968-70).

Positions held 

Executive Secretary, Asia Pacific Association of Agricultural Research Institutions (APAARI), 1993 to date; Chairman, Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi, and Chairman, Haryana Farmers’  commission; Director, National Bureau of Plant Genetic Resources, New Delhi,  India, 1985-87; Chair, Global Forum on Agric. Research; Deputy Director General (Crop Science), ICAR, 1987-92; Regional Plant Production and Protection Officer, FAO-RAPA, Bangkok, Thailand, 1993-94; Secretary, Department of Agric. Research and Education, GOI and Director General, Indian Council of Agric. Research, 1992-01; Chair, Global Forum on Agricultural Research (1998-2002); Head, CGIAR Program for Central Asia & Caucasus, Tashkent, Uzbekistan, 2001-2007; Assistant Director General (Int. Coop.), ICARDA, 2007.

Research Area

Plant Breeding and Genetics

Awards and fellowships

Honours: D.Sc. (Honoris Causa) conferred by C.S. Azad Univ. of Agriculture & Technololgy, Kanpur (1993); G.B. Pant University  of Agriculture & Technology, Pantnagar, (1996); Assam Agril.  University, Jorhat, (1997); Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore, (1998); Acharya N.G. Ranga Agril. University,  Hyderabad, (1998); Banaras Hindu University, Varanasi (2000);  Ohio State University, Columbus (2000); Maharana Pratap  University of Agriculture and Technology, Udaipur (2003); VBP  University of Agriculture, Meerut (2003); Scientific Council of  Agricultural Academy, Ministry of Education, Republic of Azerbaijan (2004) Awards: Rafi Ahmed Kidwai Prize, 1982-83; ICAR Team Research  Award, 1983-84; Federation. of Indian Chamber of Commerce  and Industry Award, 1988; Om Prakash Bhasin Award, 1992;  Asia Pacific Seed Assn. Award, 1995; FAO World Food Day  Award, 1995; Padma Bhushan, Govt. of India, 1998; Gold Medal  2006, Armenia; Borlaug Award, 2006; Gen. President, Indian  Science Congress Association, 2000-2001; Agriculture Today  Lifetime Achievement Award 2008.

Indian National Science Academy; Indian Academy of Sciences; Russian Academy of Agricultural Sciences; Third World Academy of Sciences; Academies of Agricultural Sciences of Armenia, Georgia, Tajikistan, Hon. Member of Crop Science Society of America and Agronomy Society of America.


Chairman, Trust for Advancement of Agricultural Sciences, Avenue II, IARI Campus, New Delhi 110 012.


J-8, Pusa Apartments, Sector 15, Rohini, New Delhi-110 085; Vill.
P.O. Sardhana, District: Ajmer, Rajasthan.