Profile of Dr. A. Arunachalam

Arunachalam, Ayyanadar

Elected Fellow 2014

Agricultural Sciences & Forestry

DB: 08-05-1970


Birth place

Sivakasi, India.


Ayyanadar Janaki Ammal College, Sivakasi, B.Sc. (1990), M.Sc. (1992);  North Eastern Hill University, Shillong;, Ph.D. (1997).

Positions held 

Principal Scientist in Forestry, Indian Council of Agricultural Research, 2009 to date; Lecturer/Senior Lecturer/Associate Professor in Forestry, NERIST, Nirjuli (Arunachal Pradesh), 1996-2009; Member, State Level Expert Appraisal Committee, EIA Authority, Government of Arunachal Pradesh, 2007 to date; Visiting Fellow in Biodiversity Monitoring, JNCASR, Jakkur; BOYSCAST Fellow in Restoration Ecology at University of Massachusetts, Boston, USA; Visiting Scientist in Biodiversity, Rajiv Gandhi University, Arunachal Pradesh; Visiting Professor in Forestry, Navsari Agricultural University, Gujarat; Visiting Professor in Forestry, Tamil Nadu Agricultural University, Coimbatore; Honorary Professor in Natural Resources and Sustainable Development, Amity University, Noida; Honorary Professor in Agricultural Sciences, Arunachal University of Studies, Namsai.

Vice President (2015-17), Society for Science of Climate Change and Sustainable Environment, New Delhi; Vice President (2014-16), Agricultural Scientific Tamil Society; General Secretary (2014), National Environmental Science Academy, New Delhi; General Secretary (2006-09), Arunachal Tamil Sangam, Itanagar; Chief Editor, Indian Journal of Hill Farming; Editor, Journal of Agricultural Extension and Rural Development; Editor, Climate Change and Environmental Sustainability; Associate Editor, Journal of Ecology and Environmental Sciences, Bioinfo Publications; Associate Editor, International Journal of Ecological Economics and Statistics; Editorial Board Member - Journal of Food, Agriculture and Environment, Agriculture, Ecosystems and Environment, Recent Patents in Food, Nutrition and Agriculture, Dataset Papers in Ecology.

Research Area

Ecology, Forestry, Hill Farming & Natural Resources Management, Ecosystem Services; Climate Change, Medicinal & Aromatic Plants, Watershed Management, Remote Sensing & GIS.

Awards and fellowships

Bharat Excellence Award & Gold Medal, 2003; Dr. K.G. Tejwani Award for Management of Natural Resources, Biennium 2002-03; Pran Vohra Award in Agriculture & Forestry Sciences, Biennium 2003-04; Rashtriya Vikas Ratan Award, 2005;  Rashtriya Samman Award, 2005; Environmentalist of the Year, 2008; Eminent Scientist of the Year Award, 2012;  Best Citizens Award, 2012; Professor Ramdeo Misra Best Science Award in Forest Ecology,  2013; Award for Excellence in Research, 2013; Dr. K.G. Tejwani Award for Excellence in Agroforestry Research, Biennium 2011-12, Renowned Biodiversity Science Award, 2013; Life Time Achievement Award 2013


Academy of Forest and Environmental Sciences, Dehradun; International Society of Conservation of Nature, Varanasi, India; National Institute of Ecology, New Delhi; Institute for Integrated Resource Management, Tezpur, India; International Society of Tropical Ecology, Varanasi, India; Indian Academy of Environmental Sciences, Hardwar, India; National Environmental Science Academy, New Delhi; National Environmentalists Association, Ranchi, India; Bose Science Society, Tamil Nadu; Association for Advancement of Biodiversity Science, Dharwad; International Science Congress Association; Biologists Forum of India, Chennai, India; Range Management Society of India, Jhansi, India; Academy of Forest and Environmental Sciences, Dehra Dun; Bioved Research Society, Allahabad; Society for Science and Nature, Lucknow; International Conference on Environment and Ecology, Kolkata; Society for Environment and Development, Gurgaon


National Academy for Agricultural Sciences, New Delhi.


Principal Scientist, ICAR, Room No. 101, Krishi Bhawan, New Delhi- 110 001.


 C 602, NASC Complex, DPS Marg, New Delhi- 110 012.

[M: 92124 41230;]